METHODS

Holistic approach - starting points 

#1  Is there just one solution?
#2  Everything is complicated?
#3  Existing rules have to be followed?
#4  Assessment of other players?
#5  Possible Strategies and selection?
#6  Decision-making criteria and results?

#1 No alternatives

In a complex world, there is an infinite number of possible paths and their valuation. The early narrowing of the solution space is often the result of a lack of time and resources as well as ideological, ethical or intellectual limits. Competent analyzes do not rule out anything and anticipate the consequences without prejudice.

Conclusions: What is inconceivable cannot be realized!

#2 Complexity

Complex situations are determined by a large number of mutually influencing factors. Simple, deterministic explanations and approaches usually fall short. Decisive strength consists of anticipatory investment in solution competence, robustness & resilience ahead of time with a holistic view and robust predictive models of possible futures. 

Conclusion: Anticipating challenges and opportunities is art!

#3 Rules and constraints

Rules and constraints are intended to serve a holistic development and limit the solution space in favour of individuals, specific groups or society. If rules hinder meaningful developments or lead to unjustified disadvantage and/or advantages, they must be adapted or abolished. This requires proof and societal acceptance.

 

Conclusion: Rules are not static, but need to be developed!

#4 Game theory

Games are defined by rules, players, strategy, stake and outcome. A distinction must also be made between individual games and a sequence of games. A strategy is dominant if no better results can be achieved regardless of the reaction of other players. If a one-sided deviation does not make sense this is called a Nash equilibrium.

Conclusion: Cooperation and/or confrontation can pay off!

#5 Strategy evaluation

Based on the objectives, all relevant strategies and the resulting decisions and paths must be identified in the solution space. Furthermore, the reactions of other players, dominant strategies, balances and possible cooperations have to be considered. The optimal strategy can then be selected according to payout or regarding the selected goals.

Conclusion: Search the entire solution space for the optimal strategy!

#6 Decision making

The strategies of players and possible results and can be significantly influenced by the design of the game. With product efficiency, everyone optimizes their outcome (neoliberal - winner takes all), with Pareto efficiency (static - limited change) no losses for others are allowed, with Kaldor-Hicks losses must be compensated (sustainable - internalization).

Conclusion: The game design and rules define actions and results!

 
Stochastic prediction - starting points 

#1  Condition performance – known, certain, steady?
#2  Condition distribution – known, certain, steady?
#3  Condition prediction - deterministic?
#4  Condition performance – unknown, uncertain, steady?
#5  Condition distribution – unknown, uncertain, steady?
#6  Condition prediction - stochastic?

#1 Condition performance  – deterministic

A deterministic performance model is based on the assumption of strict natural laws and certainty, in which only one condition is allowed at a time. For easier understanding, the performance can be divided into any number of (discrete) state classes (grades). The service life is defined by actual/defined failure or when a threshold is reached.

Conclusion: Any known, certain performance is called deterministic!

#2 Condition distribution – deterministic

With deterministic performance models, all similar assets or elements behave the same, i.e. all reach the same condition at the same time and fail at the same time. If the assets or elements are not the same age, failure and reinvestments are following a horizontally shifted age distribution. Instead of age utilization or loading can be used for determining service life.

Conclusion: Deterministic means all assets fail at the same age/use!

#3 Condition prediction – deterministic

Deterministic condition predictions are non-trivial, objective and valid predictions of exactly one condition at a future point in time, or of service life and time of failure. The prediction results essentially depend on available information and the forecast models used. It depends on the case and purpose if such simplifications are justified.

Conclusion: Deterministic predictions provide specific time and condition!

#4 Condition performance – stochastic

In condition performance with a variety of influences and uncertainty, different condition states are possible at the same time. Such ordered random processes can be described as stochastic discrete or continuous processes. In the Hoffmann process, a scalable performance model is integrated over any given failure distribution.

Conclusions: Performance under uncertainty can be described!

#5 Condition distribution – stochastic

In a stochastic process, the condition distribution shows the proportion of a large number of similar assets in the respective state. For any individual case, this proportion corresponds to the “a priori” probability p of being in this state at a time t. At the time of the Ø service life, the "a priori" chance to survive until then is p = 50%.


Conclusion: Stochastic means not all fail at the same time!

#6 Condition prediction – stochastic

In the stochastic condition prediction, the deterministic prediction result becomes the expected value with the probability of occurrence p = 0. The uncertainty is described taking into account the available data at the time of prediction providing a failure distribution f(tx). The service life is calculated as a bandwidth in the confidence interval.


Conclusion: Stochastic predictions provide levels of confidence!

 
Optimal timing - starting points

#1  Optimization - linear problems?
#2  Optimization - integer problems?
#3  Optimization - nonlinear problems?
#4  Deterministic life cycle cost optimization?
#5  Stochastic life cycle cost optimization?
#6  Solutionspace -  brute force VS heuristics?

#1 Linear programming (LP)

In contrast to a ranking, optimized means that an objective function is maximized/minimized. If the functional boundary conditions RB and the objective function f(xi) are linear and continuous, the solution space is a convex polytope, with a solution in polynomial time along its edges using linear programming (simplex).


Conclusion: Even large linear problems are easy to calculate!

#2 Integer programming (IP)

If only integer solutions are allowed in the solution space delimited by boundary conditions, one speaks of an integer problem. In life cycle costing this corresponds e.g. to a division of the timeline into annual steps for treatment timing. Mixed-integer problems exist when using discrete and continuous variables at the same time.

 

Conclusion: With integer optimization, problems are NP-difficult!

#3 Nonlinear programming (NLP)

If the decision variables are continuous, but the boundary conditions or objective function are non-linear, the solution space can be both convex and concave. In addition, local optima can occur and programming and calculation are much more complex or, in many cases, cannot be solved for the optimum within finite computing time.


Conclusion: Nonlinear problems cannot always be solved!

#4 Optimizing deterministic LCC

In the simplest case of a deterministic lifecycle with replacement, the annuity decreases with increasing lifespan until failure. Under the boundary condition of function, the annuity with a direct replacement at the time of failure is a minimum. If the failure causes additional costs, the annuity is correspondingly higher if the time of failure is reached.


Conclusion: Full use of service life without failure cost is optimal!

#5 Optimizing stochastic LCC

Under uncertainty, the time of failure cannot be determined a priori. With failure risk and no additional information, early intervention is optimal. With additional data and stochastic prediction, optimal timing of interventions towards the unknown time of actual failure with almost minimal annual costs is possible.


Conclusion: Stochastic prediction for optimal results under risk!

#6 Brute force - heuristik

For combinatorial problems of small scope, an exhaustive search in the solution space is possible (brute force). In the continuous solution space, an exhaustive search without discretization is not possible. However, an approximation is often possible through an analytical approach and intelligent limitation/simplification of the problem.


Conclusion: Heuristics means intelligent approximation!

 
Economic solution - starting points

#1  Cost estimate for one or many projects?
#2  Reasonable prices and testing?
#3  Stronger or weaker sizing?
#4  Confidence intervals unit cost?
#5  What quantity at what cost?
#6  Optimization work-zone length & timing?

#1 Cost estimation

The costs of individual projects can fluctuate significantly up and down due to a variety of factors. With a larger number of comparable projects, the effect is balanced and the average price is more stable (central limit theorem). With the right strategy, better prices can be achieved in most cases.


Conclusion: Variations are possible – in general not so much!

#2 Adequacy

The costs generally result from the factor prices for material, labour, equipment, transport etc. with a surplus for risks and profit. The price for the customer results from supply and demand on the market or from the level of information and willingness to pay. In the case of agreements (or cartels), the prices are systematically increased.


Conclusion: Beyond a range, increased prices are no accident!

#3 Dimensioning

The costs of larger dimensions generally increase degressive due to the fixed cost component. The minimization of the acquisition costs often results in a shorter lifespan and thus high annual costs. The life cycle cost analysis provides the optimal dimensioning with minimal annual costs (annuity) for each interest rate i.

 

Conclusion: Buying cheap is often expensive – with interest!

#4 Confidence intervals

In many cases, degressive increasing total costs are reflected in the flattening costs per unit (economies of scale). Statistically, there is a confidence interval (reliability) for the expected unit costs in individual cases (lighter, wider) and on average (darker, narrower) according to quantity as shown.


Conclusion: Confidence intervals show the reliability of estimates!

#5 Total cost function

The total costs usually do not increase linearly with the quantity of the goods, but in many cases decrease gradually (degressive) due to cheaper purchasing, greater efficiency and distribution of the fixed costs. This relationship can be shown with cost functions. Lower prices can also lead to the purchase of larger quantities (not needed). 

Conclusion: Relationships between costs and quantity are systematic!

#6 Optimization

If total costs increase degressive with the quantity, a bundling of measures can be advantageous. This is the case if the savings in bundling are greater than the loss in service life. In this way, considerable savings are possible compared to currently used maintenance and rehabilitation approaches.

Conclusion: Innovative optimization method for big savings!

 
Applied intelligence - starting points 

#1  What is intelligence?
#2  Conditional probability?
#3  Remaining service life of assets?
#4  Remaining service life by age and condition?
#5  What are neural networks?
#6  Damage detection?

#1 Definition Intelligence

As intelligence usually the (human) ability to learn from experience, adapt to new situations, understand abstract concepts and influence the environment is understood. Artificial intelligence is concerned with automating intelligent behaviour and machine learning.


Conclusion: No general definition - but absence is recognizable!

#2 Conditional probability

Conditional probabilities can be represented in a crosstab or path diagram. The probability of the occurrence of a conditional event results from the multiplication of the probability along the paths (z.B. P(𝑨 ̅∩𝑩)=1 failures p.a. → Detection rate inspection P(B)=? number unnecessary replacement?).


Conclusion: Infer to connections that are not directly observable!

#3 Remaining life surviving assets

When referring to the remaining life of the asset portfolio, usually the remaining life of surviving assets is to be calculated. While the average remaining service life of all systems decreases linearly, the remaining service life of surviving systems increases with increasing age, since already failed systems are not included.


Conclusion: Longer life and better condition than average for survivors!

#4 Condition and age-related remaining life

If the characteristic condition performance, the average service life and failure distribution are known, the condition-related remaining life can be determined. To do this, the performance curve must be scaled through the boundaries of the condition threshold resulting in a centre of gravity in an area of the failure distribution yielding tr.


Conclusions: Age/condition related remaining life is predictable!

#5 Neuronal Networks (NN)

Artificial neural networks consist of layers and neurons which exert an influence through positively and negatively weighted connections. If a threshold value is reached in the activation function, the neuron passes on information. In the training phase, the network learns by modifying the weights based on learning rules with this learned knowledge being the basis for the application.


Conclusion: Neural networks must be trained before use!

#6 Damage detection

Major fields of application in engineering include the detection of recurring patterns in images (e.g. faces, damage) and the prediction for a large number of variables. The quality characteristic of the Neural Network is the detection rate in the test phase, i.e. the proportion of correctly recognized information in practice.


Conclusion: A training set and detection rate are crucial for reliable results!

 
Modulare steps - starting points 

#1  What does modular mean?
#2  Simplification of systems?
#3  Reliability of elements?
#4  Reliability of systems?
#5  Asset management cycle?
#6  Implementation examples?

#1 Definition modular

In systems engineering, complex tasks or systems can be divided into individual, functionally closed units. These units or modules fulfil a task in the overall system and thus enable efficient structuring or sequential or parallel processing depending on resources, schedule and priority according to the goals.


Conclusion: break down complex tasks into manageable tasks!

#2 System structure

In system theory, a system is defined as an entity that can be separated from the environment and consists of elements. The description of real complex systems requires simplifications and can take the form of block diagrams for reliability analysis, event trees or path diagrams. However, in the analysis of results, these simplifications always have to be kept in mind


Conclusion: reliability analysis of systems with block diagram!

#3 Reliability of elements

The reliability R of elements can be described according to time or loading and is directly related to the probability of failure F = 1-R and failure density f. Reliability can be determined using aging or stress tests as well as systematic records and statistical analyzes of existing assets and elements


Conclusion: keep systematic records for reliability analyzes!

#4 Reliability of systems

Depending on the type of system, reliability has a different function than that of the elements. Reliability is increased in parallel systems, since only one element has to survive, while it is lower in serial systems since the failure of one element leads to system failure. With k out of n elements, the result lies in between.


Conclusion: the sum can be worse / better than the parts!

#5 Asset Management Cycle

Asset Management is structured as a cyclic process and aims at a holistic view of all phases in the life cycle. The cycle consists of inventory and condition survey, prediction, modelling of measure impact and costs, investment optimization, budgeting, construction program, commission and benchmarking.


Conclusion: Logical cycle for continuous, systematic improvement!

#6 Application examples

If there are no good solutions, searching for "best practices" does not make sense. The presented methodological approaches in asset management and life cycle costing were developed on the basis of extensive research and application. Thus, every new project offers the opportunity to test and develop innovative approaches.

Conclusion: Prove the theory in application and prediction!

 

© 2020 by Hoffmann Consult

METHODIK

Ganzheitliche Methodik - Ausgangslage 

#1  Es gibt nur eine Lösung?

#2  Alles ist so kompliziert?

#3  Bestehende Regeln sind einzuhalten?

#4  Einschätzung anderer Spieler?

#5  Strategiebewertung?

#6  Kriterien Entscheidungsfindung?

#1 Alternativlosigkeit

In einer komplexen Welt gibt es eine unendliche Anzahl möglicher Pfade und Bewertungen. Die Verengung des Lösungsraumes ist oft die Folge von Zeit- und Ressourcenmangel bzw. ideologischer, ethischer oder intellektueller Grenzen. Kompetente Analysen schließen nichts aus und nehmen Konsequenzen gedanklich vorweg.

Fazit: Was nicht vorstellbar ist, wird auch nicht realisierbar sein!

#2 Komplexität

Komplexe Situationen sind durch eine große Zahl sich gegenseitig beeinflussender Faktoren bestimmt. Einfache, deterministische Erklärungen und Handlungsansätze greifen meist zu kurz. Entscheidungsstärke besteht in vorausschauender Investition in Lösungskompetenz, Robustheit & Resilienz bevor Probleme auftreten.

Fazit: Herausforderungen und Chancen vorherzusehen ist die Kunst!

#3 Regeln

Regeln und Grenzen sollen einer ganzheitlichen Entwicklung dienen und schränken den Lösungsraum zugunsten Einzelner oder Vieler ein. Wenn Regeln sinnvolle Entwicklungen behindern oder zu einer ungerechtfertigten Benachteiligung führen, sind sie anzupassen oder abzuschaffen. Voraussetzung dafür sind Nachweis und Akzeptanz.


Fazit: Regeln sind kein Selbstzweck, sondern ständig zu entwickeln!

#4 Spieltheorie

Spiele sind durch Regeln, Spieler, Strategie, Einsatz und Ergebnis definiert. Zudem ist zwischen Einzelspielen und einer Abfolge von Spielen zu unterscheiden. Eine Strategie ist dominant, wenn unabhängig von der Reaktion kein besseres Ergebnisse erzielbar, ein Nash – Gleichgewicht, wenn einseitige Abweichung nicht sinnvoll ist.

Fazit: Kooperation und/oder Konfrontation können sich auszahlen!

#5 Strategiebewertung

Ausgehend von den Zielsetzungen sind im Lösungsraum alle relevanten Strategien und sich daraus ergebenden Handlungspfade zu identifizieren. Weiters sind die Reaktionen der anderen Spieler, dominante Strategien, Gleichgewichte und Kooperationen auszuloten und die optimale Strategie (höchsten Auszahlung) zu wählen.

Fazit: Suche der optimalen Strategie im gesamten Lösungsraum!

#6 Entscheidungsfindung

Die Strategien der Spieler und Ergebnisse und können maßgebend durch die Gestaltung des Spiels beeinflusst werden. Bei Produkteffizienz optimiert jeder für sich (Neoliberal), bei Pareto-Effizienz (Statisch) ist keine Verschlechterung erlaubt, bei Kaldor-Hicks müssen Verschlechterungen kompensiert werden (Nachhaltig).

Fazit: Die Spielgestaltung definiert Handlungsraum und Ergebnis!

 
Stochastische Methodik - Ausgangslage 

#1  Verlauf - bekannt, eindeutig, stetig?
#2  Verteilung - bekannt, eindeutig, stetig?
#3  Prognose - deterministisch?
#4  Verlauf - unbekannt, unsicher, stetig?
#5  Verteilung - unbekannt, unsicher, stetig?
#6  Prognose - stochastisch

#1 Zustandsverlauf – deterministisch

Deterministische Zustandsmodelle basieren auf der Annahme strikter Naturgesetze, bei denen nur ein Zustand zu einem Zeitpunkt erlaubt ist. Zur leichteren Verständlichkeit kann der stetige Zustand in (diskrete) Zustandsklassen (Noten) eingeteilt werden. Die Lebensdauer ist durch Ausfall oder Erreichung einer Grenze definiert.

Fazit: Ein eindeutiger stetiger Verlauf ist deterministisch!

#2 Zustandsverteilung – deterministisch

Bei deterministischem Zustandserlauf verhalten sich alle Assets oder Elemente gleich d.h. alle erreichen denselben Zustand zur selben Zeit und fallen zur selben Zeit aus. Sind die Assets oder Elemente nicht im selben Alter, folgen Ausfall und Reinvestition der Altersverteilung horizontal parallel verschoben.

Fazit: Deterministisch bedeutet, alle fallen im selben Alter aus!

#3 Zustandsprognose – deterministisch

Deterministische Zustandsprognosen sind nichttriviale, objektive und valide Vorhersagen genau eines Zustands zu einem zukünftigen Zeitpunkt bzw. von Lebensdauer und Ausfallszeitpunkt. Das Ergebnis der Prognose hängt wesentlich von den zur Verfügung stehenden Informationen sowie dem verwendeten Prognosemodell ab.

Fazit: Deterministische Prognosen geben Zeitpunkt und Zustand an!

#4 Zustandsverlauf – stochastisch

In Zustandsverläufen mit einer Vielzahl an Einflüssen und Unsicherheit sind unterschiedliche Zustände zur selben Zeit möglich. Solche zeitlich geordneten, zufälligen Vorgänge sind als stochastische Prozesse beschreibbar. Im Hoffmann-Prozess wird ein skalierbarer Zustandsverlauf über eine beliebige Ausfallsverteilung integriert.

Fazit: Ein Zustandsverlauf unter Unsicherheit ist beschreibbar!

#5 Zustandsverteilung – stochastisch

Im stochastischen Prozess zeigt die Zustandsverteilung den Anteil einer großen Zahl gleichartiger/-alter Assets im jeweiligen Zustand. Für den Einzelfall entspricht dieser Anteil der „a priori“ Wahrscheinlichkeit p zu einer Zeit t in diesem Zustand zu sein. Zum Zeitpunkt der Ø Lebensdauer ist die „a priori“ Chance zu überleben daher p=50%.


Fazit: Stochastisch bedeutet nicht alle fallen zur selben Zeit aus!

#6 Zustandsprognose – stochastisch

In der stochastischen Zustandsprognose wird das deterministische Prognoseergebnis zum Erwartungswert mit der Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit p=0. Die Unsicherheit wird unter Berücksichtigung verfügbarer Daten über eine Ausfallverteilung f(t) beschrieben. Die Lebensdauer ergibt sich als Bandbreite im Konfidenzintervall.


Fazit: Stochastische Prognosen geben Bandbreite und Konfidenz an!

 
Optimierte Methodik - Ausgangslage 

#1  Optimierung - Lineare Probleme?
#2  Optimierung - Integer Probleme?
#3  Optimierung - Nichtlineare Probleme?
#4  Deterministischer Lebenszyklus?
#5  Stochastischer Lebenszyklus?
#6  Lösungsfindung - Brute Force VS Heuristik?

#1 Lineare Programmierung (LP)

Im Gegensatz zu einer Reihung bedeutet optimiert, dass eine Zielfunktion maximiert/minimiert wird. Sind die funktionalen Randbedingungen RB und die Zielfunktion f(xi) linear und stetig, ist der Lösungsraum ein konvexes Polytop, mit Lösung in polynomialer Zeit entlang dessen Kanten mittels linearer Programmierung (Simplex).


Fazit: Auch große lineare Probleme sind gut berechenbar!

#2 Integer Programmierung (IP)

Wenn im durch Randbedingungen abgegrenzten Lösungsraum nur ganzzahlige Lösungen erlaubt sind, spricht man von einem Integer-Problem. In der Lebenszykluskostenrechnung entspricht dies z.B. einer Aufteilung der Zeitachse in Jahresschritte. Mixed-Integer Probleme bestehen bei Verwendung diskreter und stetiger Variablen.


Fazit: Bei ganzzahliger Optimierung sind die Probleme NP-schwer!

#3 Nichtlineare Programmierung (NLP)

Sind die Entscheidungsvariablen zwar stetig, die Randbedingungen oder Zielfunktion jedoch nichtlinear, kann der Lösungsraum sowohl konvex, als auch konkav sein. Zudem können lokale Optima auftreten und die Programmierung und Berechnung ist wesentlich aufwendiger bzw. in vielen Fällen nicht in endlicher Rechenzeit lösbar.


Fazit: Nichtlineare Probleme sind nicht immer lösbar!

#4 Optimierung deterministischer LCC

Im einfachsten Fall eines deterministischen Lebenszyklus mit Ersatz sinkt die Annuität mit zunehmender Lebensdauer bis zum Ausfall. Unter der Randbedingung einer Funktion ist die Annuität bei unmittelbarem Austausch zum Ausfallzeitpunkt ein Minimum. Verursacht der Ausfall Zusatzkosten, ist die Annuität entsprechend höher.


Fazit: Die vollständige Nutzung der Lebensdauer wäre optimal!

#5 Optimierung stochastischer LCC

Unter Unsicherheit lässt sich der Ausfallszeitpunkt nicht zweifelsfrei vorher bestimmen. Unter Risiko ohne Zusatzinformationen ergibt sich ein vorzeitiger Eingriff als optimal. Mit zusätzlichen Informationen und stochastischer Prognose ist eine ökonomisch optimale Annäherung an den „a priori“ unbekannten Ausfallszeitpunkt möglich.


Fazit: Mit stochastischer Prognose zur Lösung unter Unsicherheit!

#6 Brute force - Heuristik

Für kombinatorische Probleme geringen Umfangs ist eine erschöpfende Suche des Optimums im Lösungsraum möglich (Brute Force). Im kontinuierlichen Lösungsraum ist eine erschöpfende Suche ohne Diskretisierung nicht möglich. Durch analytisches Vorgehen und Eingrenzung/Vereinfachung ist oft dennoch eine gute Näherung möglich.


Fazit: Heuristik bedeutet intelligente Näherung an ein Optimum!

 
Wirtschaftlich - Ausgangslage 

#1  Kostenschätzung ein/viele Vorhaben?
#2  Angemessene Preise und Prüfung?
#3  Starke/schwache Dimensionierung?
#4  Konfidenzintervalle Einheitskosten?
#5  Welche Menge zu welchen Kosten?
#6  Optimierung Bauloslänge und Timing?

#1 Kostenschätzung

Die Kosten einzelner Vorhaben können aufgrund einer Vielzahl an Faktoren erheblich nach unten und oben schwanken. Bei einer größeren Anzahl vergleichbarer Vorhaben gleicht sich die Wirkung aus und der mittlere Preis ist stabiler (zentraler Grenzwertsatz). Mit der richtigen Strategie sind zudem meist bessere Preise zu erzielen.


Fazit: Im Einzelfall gibt es eine große Bandbreite – in Summe nicht!

#2 Angemessenheit

Die Kosten ergeben sich generell aus den Faktorpreisen für Material, Arbeit, Ausrüstung, Transport etc. zuzüglich Wagnis und Gewinn. Der Preis für den Kunden ergibt sich aus Angebot und Nachfrage am Markt bzw. nach Informationsstand und Zahlungsbereitschaft. Im Fall von Absprachen sind die Preise systematisch erhöht.


Fazit: Über eine Bandbreite hinaus sind erhöhte Preise kein Zufall!

#3 Dimensionierung

Die Kosten stärkerer Dimensionierung steigen i.a. degressiv aufgrund des Fixkostenanteils. Die Minimierung der Anschaffungskosten resultiert oft in kurzer Lebensdauer und hohen jährliche Kosten. Die Lebenszykluskostenrechnung (Life Cycle Costs LCC) ergibt die optimale Dimensionierung mit minimalen jährlichen Kosten (Annuität) für jeden Zinssatz i.


Fazit: Wer billig kauft, kauft oft teuer - wer Zinsen zahlt noch teurer!

#4 Konfidenzintervalle

Die degressiv steigenden Gesamtkosten zeigen sich an den abflachenden Kosten je Einheit (Skalenerträge). Statistisch gibt es einen Konfidenzintervall (Zuverlässigkeit) für die zu erwartenden Kosten je Einheit im Einzelfall (heller, breiter) sowie im Durchschnitt (dunkler, schmäler) nach Menge.


Fazit: Der Konfidenzintervall zeigt die Zuverlässigkeit der Schätzung!

#5 Kostenfunktion

Die Gesamtkosten steigen mit der Menge des Gutes meist nicht linear, sondern vielfach degressiv aufgrund eines günstigeren Einkaufs, größerer Effizienz sowie Verteilung der Fixkosten. Mit Kostenfunktionen lässt sich dieser Zusammenhang zeigen. Günstigere Preise können zudem zum Kauf größerer Mengen veranlassen.


Fazit: Der Zusammenhang von Kosten und Menge ist systematisch!

#6 Optimierung

Wenn Gesamtkosten degressiv mit der Menge zunehmen, kann eine Bündelung von Maßnahmen vorteilhaft sein. Dies ist dann der Fall, wenn die Ersparnis der Bündelung größer als der Verlust an Lebensdauer ist. Auf diese Weise sind gegenüber den derzeit verwendeten Ansätzen der Erhaltung erhebliche Einsparungen möglich.

Fazit: Innovative Optimierungsmethode für große Einsparungen!

 
Intelligente Methodik - Ausgangslage 

#1  Was ist Intelligenz?

#2  Bedingte Wahrscheinlichkeit?

#3  Restlebensdauer des Bestandes?

#4  Restlebensdauer nach Alter/Zustand?

#5  Was sind Neuronale Netzwerke?

#6  Schadensdetektion?

#1 Definition intelligent

Als Intelligenz kann die (menschliche) Fähigkeit bezeichnet werden aus Erfahrung zu lernen, sich an neue Situationen anzupassen, abstrakte Konzepte zu verstehen und die Umwelt zu beeinflussen. Künstliche Intelligenz befasst sich mit der Automatisierung intelligenten Verhaltens und maschinellem Lernen.


Fazit: Keine allgemeine Definition – aber Abwesenheit erkennbar!

#2 Bedingte Wahrscheinlichkeit

Bedingte Wahrscheinlichkeiten können in einer Kreuztabelle oder einem Pfaddiagramm dargestellt werden. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit des Eintrittes eines bedingten Ereignisses ergibt sich aus der Multiplikation der Wahrscheinlichkeit entlang der Pfade (z.B. P(𝑨 ̅∩𝑩)=1 Ausfall p.a. → Trefferquote Prüfer P(B)=?, Unnötiger Ersatz?).


Fazit: Auf nicht direkt beobachtbare Zusammenhänge schließen!

#3 Restlebensdauer überlebender Assets

Wenn von Restlebensdauer des Anlagenbestandes gesprochen wird ist tatsächlich die Restlebensdauer überlebender Assets gemeint. Während die mittlere Restlebensdauer aller Anlagen linear abnimmt, liegt die Restlebensdauer überlebender Anlagen mit zunehmendem Alter darüber, da bereits ausgefallenen Anlagen nicht enthalten sind.


Fazit: Höhere Restlebensdauer und besserer Zustand als Schnitt!

#4 Zustands- und altersbedingte Restlebensdauer

Sind der charakteristische Zustandsverlauf, die mittlere Lebensdauer sowie Ausfallsverteilung bekannt, kann die zustandsbedingte Restlebensdauer ermittelt werden. Dazu ist der charakteristische Zustandsverlauf durch die Grenzen des Zustandsbereichs zu skalieren und der Schwerpunkt des resultierenden Bereichs der Ausfallsverteilung zu ermitteln.


Fazit: Die Restlebensdauer nach Zustand und Alter ist berechenbar!

#5 Neuronale Netzwerke (NN)

Künstliche neuronale Netze bestehen aus Layern, deren Neuronen durch positiv und negativ gewichtete Verbindungen einen Einfluss ausüben. Wird ein Schwellenwert in der Aktivierungsfunktion erreicht, gibt das Neuron Informationen weiter. In der Trainingsphase lernt das Netzwerk durch Modifikation der Gewichte mit Lernregeln.


Fazit: Neuronale Netzwerke sind vor Anwendung richtig zu trainieren!

#6 Schadensdetektion (NN)

Wesentliche Anwendungsfelder im Ingenieurwesen sind u.a. die Erkennung wiederkehrender Muster in Bildmaterial ( z.B. Gesichter, Schäden) und die Prognose bei einer Vielzahl an Einflussfaktoren. Qualitätsmerkmal der Erkennung ist die Detektionsrate in der Testphase d.h. der Anteil richtig erkannter Informationen.


Fazit: Trainingsset und Detektionsrate sind entscheidend!

 
Modulare Methodik - Ausgangslage 

#1  Was bedeutet modular?

#2  Vereinfachung Systeme?

#3  Zuverlässigkeit Elemente?

#4  Zuverlässigkeit Systeme?

#5  Asset Management Zyklus?

#6  Umsetzungsbeispiele?

#1 Definition modular

Im Systems Engineering können komplexe Aufgaben oder Systeme in einzelne in sich funktional geschlossene Einheiten gegliedert werden. Diese Einheiten oder Module erfüllen eine Aufgabe im Gesamtsystem und ermöglichen so eine effiziente Strukturierung bzw. sequenzielle oder parallele Bearbeitung je nach Ressourcen, Zeitplan und Priorität.


Fazit: Komplexe Aufgaben in überschaubare Bausteine zerlegen!

#2 Systemaufbau

In der Systemtheorie wird ein System als eine von der Umwelt abgrenzbare Entität bestehend aus Elementen definiert. Die Beschreibung realer komplexer Systeme erfordert Vereinfachungen und kann in Form von Blockdiagrammen für die Zuverlässigkeitsanalyse, Ereignisbäumen oder Pfaddiagrammen erfolgen.


Fazit: Zuverlässigkeitsanalyse von Systemen mit Blockdiagramm!

#3 Zuverlässigkeit von Elementen

Die Zuverlässigkeit R(t) von Elementen kann nach Zeit bzw. Belastung beschrieben werden und hängt direkt mit der Ausfallwahrscheinlichkeit
F(t) = 1 - R(t) und Ausfallsdichte f(t) zusammen. Die Bestimmung der Zuverlässigkeit kann über Alterungs- oder Belastungstests sowie über systematische Aufzeichnungen und statistische Analysen erfolgen.


Fazit: Systematische Aufzeichnungen für Zuverlässigkeitsanalysen!

#4 Zuverlässigkeit von Systemen

Je nach Art des Systems ist die Zuverlässigkeit eine andere Funktion als die der Elemente. Bei parallelen Systemen ist die Zuverlässigkeit erhöht, da nur ein Element überleben muss, während sie bei seriellen Systemen niedriger ist, da der Ausfall eines Elementes zum Systemausfall führt. Bei k aus n Elementen liegt das Ergebnis dazwischen.


Fazit: Die Summe kann schlechter/besser sein als die Teile!

#5 Asset Management Zyklus

Der Asset Management Prozess ist zyklisch aufgebaut und zielt auf eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung alle Phasen im Lebenszyklus ab. Der Zyklus besteht aus Bestands- und Zustandserfassung, Prognosen, Modellierung von Maßnahmenwirkung und Kosten, Optimierung, Budgetierung, Bauprogramm, Abnahme und Benchmarking.


Fazit: Logischer Kreislauf für systematische Verbesserung!

#6 Umsetzungsbeispiele

Wenn es keine guten Lösungen gibt, wird die Suche nach „best practises nicht sinnvoll sein. Die gezeigten methodischen Ansätze in Asset Management und Lebenszykluskostenrechnung sind auf Basis von Forschung und Anwendung entstanden. Jedes Vorhaben bietet die Gelegenheit innovative Ansätze zu erproben und weiterzuentwickeln.

Fazit: In Praxis und Vorhersage muss sich jede Theorie beweisen!

 

© 2020 by Hoffmann Consult